At Last, Lagunitas Capuccino Stout

Lagunitas Capuccino StoutI made several stops at a variety of local shops looking for Lagunitas Capuccino Stout after pocketkkings did a review of this winter seasonal last year, but I caught on too late.  I never did find it.  But patience is a virtue, and in the fullness of time, my reward has come.  I don’t think the world is gonna end in 2012 just because the Mayans ran out of toner cartridges right when they were printing up 2013, but if it does, at least I got to try this winter treat.Of course, it’s called Capuccino Stout because it has some very nice coffee in it.  Appropriately enough, the first pour looked a lot like an iced coffee, or used motor oil, depending on your attitude.  In other words, it looked like a stout.  But the full, khaki colored head was a dead giveaway that something good was in store. The aroma had a full, dark character that confirmed what the eye told me: roasted barley and coffee.

The flavor was like cafe mocha with a smooth, herbal, hop bite.

Capuccino Stout First Pour

Capuccino Stout First Pour

When I asked the wife to give it a sip she said, “Spicy.””Does it taste like coffee or chocolate?”

She replied, ” No, spicy.”  Then she took another sip and said, “It does taste like coffee!”

My mind wandered to comparisons with Murphy’s Irish Stout: the body is more full, more satisfying, but the bubbles are less creamy.  I thought it would be interesting to try this side-by-side with the Trader Joe’s Vintage 2012.

To summarize, I found this beer to be rich, complex, unique, and delicious.  The full body is just what I expect from a stout beer.  This fine specimen would make an excellent Christmas gift for the beer lover on your list.  You might even tell the wife to put one out for Santa Claus.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    pocketkkings said,

    I’m glad you finally found it, and I’m pleased that you liked it. Now the next Lagunitas you should keep your eye on is “A Little Sumpin Sumpin”. Cheers!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment